WhatsApp Updates Terms and Privacy Policy: Accept or Lose Access to App

WhatsApp is sending out in-app popup messages to its users, informing them about the upcoming update in its terms and privacy policy. Most of you probably might also have received it by now as the company plans to bring a change to its terms of service. The Facebook-owned messaging platform is forcing users to agree to its new privacy rules, disagreeing to which will make them lose access to the app.

The most popular messaging app is updating its terms of service and privacy policy that users need to accept before 8th February. If users don’t choose to accept the new terms, they’ll lose access to their WhatsApp. Post that, they can choose to delete their account and move to any of its alternatives. After February 8, WhatsApp will force users to accept its updated terms and privacy policy.

WhatsApp’s New Terms and Privacy Policy Changes

According to the in-app notification sent by WhatsApp, there are important changes to how WhatsApp processes the user data, how businesses can use Facebook hosted services to store chats, and how WhatsApp offers integrations across products. The cross product integration may include Messenger Rooms, cross-story sharing, and more. If you didn’t receive the popup yet, you’ll get a popup similar to the one shown here.

WhatsApp Updates Terms and Privacy Policy: Accept or Lose Access to App

The update for WhatsApp’s terms and privacy policy is for all users irrespective of the device system they use. So, the company is sending the popup notification on Android, iOS, and WhatsApp for Web. If you haven’t received it yet, you should see one in the coming weeks. One of the biggest changes regarding data collection includes the storage of media on WhatsApp’s servers. The company says it stores the media on its servers in encrypted form to aid efficient forwarding.

Further, WhatsApp collects users’ location-related data such as IP address, phone number area code, etc., to determine their general location. But if a user grants permission while sharing his location with someone on WhatsApp, the company collects the user’s GPS location as well. For businesses, WhatsApp’s new policy says that it can share user’s information with third-party service providers, such as Facebook, Instagram, Oculus, etc.

For more secure and private features download gb whatsapp

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here